Download double bass convention 2015 for windows 10 education 32

Double bass convention 2015

I knew a few things from having built a previous bass, but I still lacked confidence. So when the International Society of Bassists had their recent convention/competition in Fort Collins, I attended and took a few photos, and tried to observe as much as I could, so as to absorb information I badly needed.

Matthew Tucker was there, which was another reason I wanted to attend. He and I built our first basses simultaneously, but he went on to excel at making basses, while I reverted to smaller instruments for the next ten years. I kept telling myself I wanted to build another bass, and even bought wood and patterns, etc. but it is such a huge, daunting project that I never got started.

That first bass. Notice I didn’t even know what the little white felt things were for… 🙂

Choosing a Design

The orchestral basses tend to be big all over, and harder to access for repertoire work, though they sound great. The one I am designing will be smaller in the upper bouts, to make it easier to play, but still pretty full in the lower bouts, and deep in the ribs, for big sound. I wanted a more graceful scroll than the one on my first instrument, so I designed that as well, and followed Matthew’s instructions to get a “D” neck.

I made the F-holes a good deal larger than some instruments have, hoping for better mobility of the bridge area, as well as easy flow for air. The f-hole template was cut from thin clear plastic, flexible so that it can be formed around the front plate to transfer the shape. Also, this will be a “violin-cornered” bass, as opposed to “gamba-cornered”. It is more difficult to build, but I like the looks better. 🙂

I already have the maple for back, neck and sides, and I ordered European spruce for the belly and bass-bar. All I really accomplished today was the completion of the mold template, the neck and scroll template and the f-hole template:

New Templates with sketches and tools

But– the game has begun! Now I can use the mold template as I build the actual mold, get blocks in the mold, and shape the blocks to receive the ribs. One step at a time! I will keep you posted.

Double bass convention 2015

Welcome to the official homepage of Swedish bassist Dan Styffe. This page contains a biography and information on repertoire, CD-recordings, concerts, reviews and photos for download. A CV in Swedish is also available. Dan Styffe performs internationally both as soloist, chamber musician and as Principal Bassist in Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra.

Downloads

CD release

Spring 2017

In spring 2017 a new CD will be released on the english label Prima Facie. Solo pieces by Garcia, Salles, Hauta-aho, Paus, Viken, Harrison, Alexander and Marais. Duo bass/piano by Steve Plews who is also the producer.

CD release with Hauta-Aho

A new CD on Prima Facie is being planned dedicated to Teppo Hauta-Aho. The CD will include both pieces by him and pieces written to him by among other Garcia, Salles and Heyes.

Markneukirchen International Instrumental Competition

May 4-13 2017

Styffe will be in the jury for the International solo competition, for double bass, in Markneukirchen.

Masterclasses

Apr/May 2017

Styffe will be holding masterclasses in Helsinki in April and in Leipzig in May 2017.

Chamber concerts

Jun 5-10 2017

Dan will give a solo-recital and participate in three chamber concerts at the ISBs 2017 convention in Ithaca, US. He will play with Gabriele Ragghianti, participate in a recital dedicated to Teppo Hauta-Aho and play in Barry GreenВґs project "AnnaВґs Promise".

VoksenГҐsen Summer Academy

Summer 2017

Teaching at VoksenГҐsen Summer Academy, Oslo. Together with RГјdiger Ludwig.

International Bass Academy

Aug 13-20 2017

Dan will participate at Biarritz International Bass Academy, France. With Thierry Barbe and Gabriele Ragghianti, Gottfried Engels, Edmond Cheng and others.

Collaboration with Christian Lindberg

Feb 2 2018

World premiere for a new bass concerto by Swedish composer, conductor and trombone soloist Christian Lindberg with the Beethoven orchestra in Bonn, Germany. Lindberg conducting.

International competition Ludwigslust

Jul 22-29 2018

The 10th International Johann - Mathias - Sperger - Competition in Ludwigslust, Germany.

Selected Performances

Festival Federico Cesi

Dan Styffe, Gabriele Ragghianti, Thierry BarbГ©, Giuseppe Ettorre - double bass

Festival International de Musica Camera Joaquin Turina